Food Standards Committee (FSC)

Food Standards Committee (FSC) was formed in the early 1970s to serve the needs of the food industries for the purpose of trade facilitation through the elimination of technical barriers to trade, improving quality and safety of the food products and protection of consumers.

The role of FSC has evolved over time in order to serve the local food industry to meet global competition. FSC aims to Spearhead Singapore’s development into a world-class vital food hub by supporting key national initiatives under the Food Manufacturing and Food Services Industry Transformation Maps.


This is achieved through develop standards and participate/monitor of Codex Alimentarius Commission and ISO standards to support emerging trends, address industry needs, and safeguard Singapore’s interest.

Emphasis is also placed on areas of standardisation that complement food control activities, elevate indigenous food standards at international level and safeguard Singapore’s interest during the harmonisation of food standards in the Asean Free Trade Agreement (AFTA).

Structure of Food Standards Committee

FSC 2022

The Scope of FSC

  • Develop, promote and facilitate the implementation of standards across the whole value chain of the food industry from farm to fork
  • Support both national and industry-driven efforts, including legislation, in areas of standardisation that promote safe and sustainable food production and consumption environment for domestic and international needs
  • Elevate indigenous food standards at regional/international level to promote/safeguard Singapore's interest

The Composition of FSC

Capacity Name Representing
Chair Dr Allan Lim Individual Capacity
Dy Chair Dr Tan Lee Kim Singapore Food Agency
Member Mr Ang Khim Wee Singapore Food Manufacturers’ Association
Member Ms Cyndy Au Danisco Singapore Pte Ltd
Member Ms Michelle Bin Innovate 360
Member Mr David Chai Food Industry & Resource Centre
Member Mr Andrew Chan The Restaurant Association of Singapore
Member Prof William Chen Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Member Mr Cheong Chung Kin Singapore Manufacturing Federation
Member Mr Chew Chee Bin Singapore Agro-Food Enterprises Federation Limited
Member Ms Chong Nyet Chin NTUC Fairprice Co-operative Ltd
Member Dr Ritu Bhalla Republic Polytechnic
Member Ms Laureen Goi Tee Yih Jia Food Manufacturing Pte Ltd
Member A/Prof Ralph E Graichen Biomedical Research Council
Member Mr Richard Khaw Nanyang Polytechnic
Member Ms Melissa Koh Health Promotion Board
Member Mr Matthew Kovac Food Industry Asia
Member Ms Nichol Ng Foodxervices Inc.
Member Ms Nurul Hidayah Majlis Ugama Islam Singapura
Member Mr Ong Boon Hock Commonwealth Capital Pte Ltd
Member Dr Benjamin Smith Future Ready Food Safety Hub
Member Ms Sharon Tay Enterprise Singapore
Member Dr Wuang Shy Chyi Temasek Polytechnic
Member Ms Lianey Yeap SATS Catering Pte Ltd
Member Prof Zhou Weibiao National University of Singapore
Co-opt member Dr Diana Chan Aquaculture Innovation Centre
Secretary Mr Chew Chon Mun Singapore Manufacturing Federation - Standards Development Organisation