Safety and Quality Standards Committee (SQSC)


In September 2001, the work of Mechanical Standards Committee, the Industrial Safety Standards Committee and the Packaging Standards Committee were converged and undertaken by the General Engineering and Safety Standards Committee (GESSC) to support national initiatives in improving productivity, enhancing quality and promoting a safer and healthier workplace. The GESSC was renamed as Quality and Safety Standards Committee (QSSC) in April 2017 following an expansion of the scope of the committee.

In April 2023, QSSC was renamed as Safety and Quality Standards Committee (SQSC) with a renewed emphasis on safety. SQSC focuses on the development and promotion of key standards for products, processes and practices related to workplace safety and health, and on overall systems, processes and capabilities in areas of quality management, risk, business continuity, compliance, anti bribery and social responsibility. The SQSC also supports the testing, inspection and certification industry through development of conformity assessment standards.

Structure of Safety & Quality Standards Committee

The Scope of SQSC

  • Workplace Safety and Health
  • Sports Safety
  • Personal Safety and Health
  • Safety and Health Involving Use of Equipment
  • Management Systems
  • Conformity Assessment

The Composition of SQSC

Capacity Name Representing
Chair Ms Jaime Lim Individual Capacity
Dy Chair Mr Ong Liong Chuan Individual Capacity
Dy Chair Mr Seet Choh San Individual Capacity
Advisor Mr Chan Yew Kwong Individual Capacity
Member Ms Delphine Fong Hung Ying Sport Singapore
Member Mr Steven Goh The National Trades Union Congress
Member Mr Koh Yeong Kheng Association of Small and Medium and Enterprises
Member Mr Bernard Kwok Hon Mun Ministry of Manpower
Member Mr Danny Lien Singapore Productivity Association
Member Mr Lim Kee Huat Society of Loss Prevention in the Process Industrie
Member Mr Neville Loh Thian Yeow Association of Process Industry
Member Mr Loh Yeow Meng Temasek Polytechnic
Member Er. Ng Siew Wah The Institution of Engineers, Singapore
Member Mr Kenneth Siew The Singapore Contractors Association Ltd
Member Assoc Prof Sin Siang-Meng, Ivan National University of Singapore
Member Mr Srinivasan Ramabhadran dss+
Member Mr Sze Thiam Siong Singapore Manufacturing Federation - Testing, Inspection and Certification Interest Group
Member Mr Andy Tan Woei Luen Ministry of Home Affairs
Member Mr Francis Wee Terk Meng JTC Corporation
Member Mr Winston Yew Eng How Workplace Safety and Health Council
Member Ms Zhuang Sijia Brenda Tan Tock Seng Hospital Pte Ltd
Member Er. Ngiam Tong Yuen Individual capacity
Member Mr Jonathan Wan  Individual capacity
Secretary Ms Dorothy Er Singapore Manufacturing Federation – Standards Development Organisation